Turning Tables

Me: (Giving spelling test) “Number 2, completely. It is completely normal to like chocolate.”
Student: What was number 1?

Today was not even that challenging, yet more annoying and frustrating than anything else. I felt like the students managed the classroom in the worst way. My intention is to not bash the teacher I subbed for, especially since I am a rookie, but I got the impression that this teacher allows her students to take reign in the classroom and I have never experienced anything like that before. My head was literally throbbing when I left.

I must say that I think I handled it pretty well. For the first time I feel like I am not being too hard on myself, and for the first time I see the flip side. No, for real. Now I see what terrible classroom management leads to…. Of course I would second guess myself. Was it only crazy because there was a sub? because it is Friday? and is or was there a full moon!?

But then again, I feel so sure that the management isn’t properly maintained. I could sit here and tell you all the reasons why my day was not okay, or talk about all the great things that did happen, but I don’t feel like talking or thinking about it anymore.

There is one thing I would like to say as a final word. Those students that are so well behaved and actually want to learn are robbed from. Their time is stolen when I continually have to stop to redirect the students that either won’t listen or don’t care enough to do the work or are too busy talking. Those poor students have to suffer consequences due to other peoples actions and choices. This can be prevented with proper classroom management. I am not even a parent, but if I was, I would not want my child in that classroom. I would pull them out if I knew what the teacher didn’t provide for her students/my child. I am still shaking my head about it.

The tables have been turned and it was probably one of the best lessons I could have ever learned as an educator. My mind feels like it has been blown up, on a few different levels.

A nap is so necessary.
Much love,
Miss Miller

About teachmissmiller

I have created a life full of happiness and knowledge through pursuing my passion. Sining in the rain and learning to laugh always helps! Finally landed a position so now I am just living the American dream.
This entry was posted in Education and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment