Dyslexia

This video is hard for me to grasp because I cannot imagine what a child or anyone with dyslexia has to deal with, especially since literacy holds so much significance in life.

I also saw a clip on Glee (only my favorite television show) that I wish I could share, but the scene is basically a special education teacher giving a literacy assessment to a high school student, only to diagnose him with dyslexia. My heart is quickly triggered by these two clips because the special third grade student I often talk about may have dyslexia. What an unimaginable disability to have. The scene from Glee gives the audience such a strong sense of how a person with dyslexia assimilates, and uses other skills and memorization to “get by.”

Glee Moment:
Ryder: “Am I dumb?”
Assessment lady: “No, you are actually very smart.”

That special boy I talk about a lot is extremely gifted in many ways. Because we have a special bond, I try to help him pursue his passions, and right now that is his love of drawing. He gave me a notebook full of his own illustrations, and my thoughts:

1. He has discovered a new passion of drawing.
2. He needs to use this new interest as a resource and strategy for grasping literacy.

I need to do more research on this topic. Where to begin?

Buenos noches! Miss Miller

P.S. This post is old, I know, but I found a video that I would like to share on finding your passion when you have dyslexia. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ugFIHHom1NU [The link set up is being stubborn so I will fix this later, but there is the video. It totally reminds me of my little guy.

About teachmissmiller

I have created a life full of happiness and knowledge through pursuing my passion. Sining in the rain and learning to laugh always helps! Finally landed a position so now I am just living the American dream.
Video | This entry was posted in Education and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

