Holidays Happening

Image

image retrieved: ticketsinventory.com

I love this season, but I find that as I am maturing, my outlook on Christmas changes slightly each year. I do acknowledge the other holidays around this time of year, but I grew up believing in Santa, reindeers, and elves that have big ears and wear green outfits that hang out with misfits. Therefore, I like to celebrate Christmas, and so do the majority of people I know.

Click the link to read about the  Origin of Christmas.

My mother once stated that Christmas is more about children, and that really stuck to me from year to year. It seems that most children believe in Santa, and I remember never wanting to give up that idea that it was actually my parents buying me gifts, not some strange old man covered with fluffy white hair. Now I recall what she said and realize that it IS about children, and of course that isn’t the only thing Christmas is about. However, I am learning that the pureness and happiness of Christmas shine through children. It’s almost like they are the sparkle of Christmas, like the angel on top of a tree.

Before I get carried away, I need to explain a bit about my wonderful school. It isn’t my school, but I am in love with this school, so I call it mine. I think it loves me too, as in the students, teachers, and etc. I love how smaller schools create and tight-knit community, because it makes the world a better place, at least my world. I think it is inevitable for smaller schools to have this feel, and I hope to one day be a part of that in the books.

I went to the elementary holiday concert at my school yesterday afternoon and this place was packed with members of the community, which was most likely moms, dads, grandparents and friends of the students in the performance, but still, I parked quite a ways away from the school. Not to mention that the auditorium was PACKED! My social anxiety kicked in until I sat with my friends, but at the same time I could feel the excitement and anticipation coming from the audience.

As for the concert/play/performance… It was AWESOME! It was honestly the best elementary performance I have ever seen. The music teacher is AMAZING! She is one of my favorite people and gives quite the impression. She is hilarious and relates so well with her students, and she knows how to teach effectively.

My three stars and a wish of the performance:

*The song choices, they went so well with the story (unless this was already a written performance)

*The fact that there was a story to the performance, Bentley’s Snowflakeswhich not only kept it entertaining, but it hopefully influenced and taught the children something meaningful and important while they were preparing. Not only did the children learn, but so did I, and I would hope at least the majority of the audience.

*I love that for the final song she had a digital story in the background that showed the actual snowflakes Bentley photographed.

Wish: The transitions from grade to grade on the risers and in between scenes took FOREVER!!! I am exaggerating, it wasn’t that long, but maybe there is an alternative to save time. Maybe I’ve just got that teacher mind set of time management, and maybe I am somewhat impatient.

Besides that, the concert was WOW! I can’t stress it enough, and I would hope that it touched everyones heart.

I need to go for now. Off to another school event with a teacher friend of mine. She is the captain of the cheerleading team and she invited to watch her cheerleaders do a cheer they’ve spent a lot of time creating and practicing, so it is a BIG deal.

Happy Holidays!

Miss Miller

About teachmissmiller

I have created a life full of happiness and knowledge through pursuing my passion. Sining in the rain and learning to laugh always helps! Finally landed a position so now I am just living the American dream.
This entry was posted in Education and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

